Pesquisar este blog

3 de outubro de 2012

Show Completo: Miles Davis - Live at Montreux (1991)

Miles Davis: Live at Montreux (1991)
Recorded Live on July 8th, 1991 at the Montreux Casino
Montreux Jazz Festival (Switzerland)

Miles Davis (tp)
Kenny Garrett (as)
Wallace Roney, Manfred Schoof, Ack van Royen (tp, flh)
Quincy Jones (cond)
The Gil Evans Orchestra
The George Gruntz Concert Jazz Band

1. Introduction [Claude Nobs, Quincy Jones]
2. Boplicity (M. Davis-Gil Evans)
3. Springsville (John Carisi) [with introduction]
4. The Maids of Cadiz (Leo Delibes)
5. The Duke (Dave Brubeck)
6. My Ship (Kurt Weill-Ira Gershwin)
7. Miles Ahead (M. Davis-G. Evans)
8. Blues for Pablo (G. Evans)
9. Introduction [Quincy Jones]
10. Gone (G. Evans)
11. Gone, Gone, Gone (Dubose Heyward-George Gershwin-I. Gershwin)
12. Summertime (G. Gershwin-I. Gershwin-D. Heyward)
13. Here Come de Honey Man (D. Heyward-G. Gershwin-I. Gershwin)
14. The Pan Piper (G. Evans)
15. Solea (G. Evans)

Miles Davis is universally regarded as one of the most influential and innovative jazz musicians and composers of the 20th Century. He was at the forefront of the jazz world for decades and was involved in the evolution of bebop, cool jazz, modal jazz and jazz fusion amongst others. Miles Davis played many times at the Montreux Jazz Festival, especially after his return to performance in the early eighties. This DVD brings together some of the highlights of those Montreux shows stretching back to his first appearance in 1973 and up to his final concert there in July 1991, just a couple of months before his death in September of that year. Bonus Features: An insightful and personal interview with Carlos Santana talking about his memories of and relationship with Miles Davis and how he was influenced by him.

Jazz for Lovers
Share on :

0 comentários/comente ...:

© Copyright JazzMan! 2011 - Some rights reserved | Powered by
Template Design by Herdiansyah Hamzah | Published by Borneo Templates and Theme4all